A little taste of Mexico; slow cooked beef burritos

Now and again I get a burrito craving and the thought of devouring my way through an oversized sandwich, bursting at the seams with spicy meat, vegetables and rice is very inviting.

Such a fancy took hold of me a few weeks back. Sadly there are no burrito bars in the Ormeau area -take note Boojum – and I didn’t want to drive somewhere to get my fix so options were limited.

The majority of you modern folk would probably phone the didgeridoo man and have one delivered, but I am  ‘particular’ person and wanted to oversee the construction process to ensure no rogue beans sneaked their way in.

So the only solution was a DIY job and I decided to make my own burritos using slow cooked beef brisket and homemade salsa for an air of authenticity, although I did cheat with the rice.

There was of course one flaw with slow cooking beef brisket; the burrito wasn’t going to be in my mouth anytime soon.

I actually cooked the brisket for around six-hours, turned the slow cooker off before going to bed and let it rest in the cooking juices overnight, so it would have been much quicker to visit a Mexican eatery.

All good things come to those who wait though and making my own version was worth the effort which I hope you all agree with…

Spicy beef burritos

Ingredients

  • 1.5kg beef brisket
  • 1 red chilli
  • ½ onion
  • 1 pint beef stock
  • 2 tbsp. tomato puree
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 8 flour tortillas
  • 500 grams Mexican style rice (I let my old Uncle Ben take care of this)
  • Salsa
  • Strong cheddar

Spice rub

  • 1 tsp. cumin seeds (crushed)
  • 1 tsp. smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • ½ tsp. oregano
  • 1 tsp. black peppercorns (crushed)

This recipe serves four.

Method

  • Mix all of the dry ingredients together and then rub into the meat.
  • Allow the meat to rest at room temperature for 30 minutes before cooking.
  • Thinly slice the onion and chilli and sauté for five to ten minutes in a frying pan with the olive oil and tomato puree.
  • Turn the slow cooker on to high and add the onion, chilli and beef stock.
  • Using the same frying pan, brown the meat on all sides to seal.
  • Add the meat to the slow cooker and leave for at least six-hours; turn the brisket every two-hours and keep basting with the stock. I turned my slow cooker off after six-hours, but let the brisket sit in the cooking juices overnight, allowing it to become really soft and tender.
  • When the meat has cooled, remove any excess fat and shred into pieces.
  • Remove the cooking juices from the slow cooker, but don’t throw away.
  • Turn the slow cooker back on to medium or high, add the shredded meat and pour over half a cup of the cooking juices.
  • Reheat for at least 20-30minutes.
  • Grill or heat the tortillas and serve with warm rice, salsa, sour cream and cheese.
Leave a Reply

