On the twelfth day of Christmas my true love gave to me; 12 chicken drumsticks with a honey and soy sauce glaze

On the twelfth day of Christmas my true love gave to me 12 drummers drumming, 11 pipers piping, 10 Lords a leaping, 9 ladies dancing, 8 maids a milking, 7 swans a swimming, 6 geese a laying, 5 gold rings, 4 calling birds, 3 French hens, 2 turtle doves and a partridge in a pear tree.

This morning dear reader I share with you the final installment of my guide to the 12 days of Christmas on a plate.

I have spent the last few weeks in the kitchen slaving away over a hot stove and sifting through the pages of old cookbooks for recipe ideas and while it has been fun, my dry and burnt hands now require some respite.

My kitchen also needs a rest from the mess; from the plume of icing sugar that descended when making Viennese whirls to the drops of sticky marmalade covering the worktop while I filled jam pots, it has been through the wars.

But enough of this pity seeking for my endeavours. On this the non-traditional twelfth day of Christmas, 12 drummers are drumming and chicken drumsticks coated in a honey and soy glaze have been baked in my oven.

As we are concluding this series on New Year’s Eve i felt a simple dish was appropriate; if you are hosting a party tonight this is an easy recipe to follow and takes little effort.

My dry seasoning for the chicken drumsticks consists of salt, pepper, Chinese five spice and cumin seeds. I am having a major love in with cumin seeds and add them to roast vegetables, soup and now chicken, apparently they also have lots of health benefits too.

So in true Jerry Springer style what have been my learnings from all of this?

  • Baking requires patience and discipline as I discovered after a few dud attempts at making shortbread
  • My culinary strengths still lie in the world of savoury, the four-bird roast has been one of my best creations yet
  • You should never stick your hand in a hot oven
  • If it sounds a bit fishy, it probably is a bit fishy like my fish pie with leaping salmon proved to be

I hope you have all enjoyed reading my recipes and try them out at home. Happy New Year folks and I will be back in 2017 with more recipes to tickle your taste buds… although they are unlikely to be on this grand a scale ever again!

Baked chicken drumsticks with a honey and soy glaze

img_4041

Chicken drumsticks with honey and soy glaze

 Ingredients

  • 10-12 chicken drumsticks
  • 2 teaspoons of cumin seeds
  • 1 teaspoon of sea salt
  • 8-10 black peppercorns
  • 1 teaspoon of Chinese five spice
  • 5 tablespoons of dark soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons of honey

Method

  • Using a pestle and mortar crush the cumin seeds, sea salt, peppercorns and Chinese five spice into a fine powder.
  • Put the chicken drumsticks into a large freezer bag and add this seasoning, shake the bag to make sure the chicken is well covered. Leave the chicken in the fridge for 1-2 hours before using.
  • Preheat the oven to 200 degrees. Drizzle some olive oil onto a baking tray and lay out the chicken pieces.
  • In a bowl combine the soy sauce and honey, drizzle half of this over the drumsticks.
  • Bake in the middle of a hot oven for 20 minutes; remove the tray, turn the chicken and drizzle over the remaining honey and soy sauce.
  • Return to the oven for a further 20 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.
  • Allow to cool for a few minutes before serving.

 

Leave a Reply

