On the second day of Christmas my true love gave to me two turtle doves And a partridge in a pear tree.

On the second day of Christmas my true love gave to me two turtle doves and a partridge in a pear tree…

Orange and cinnamon shortbread biscuits

Today I present to you dove-shaped shortbread biscuits – while I am taking this mission seriously, doves will not be harmed during its course.

This is my take on a shortbread recipe from an old cookbook I found at my parents house; I have added orange and cinnamon for a festive touch and adapted the originals timings.

Cinnamon gives my ‘shortbread’ a darker colour and a crunchier texture, they are more ‘biscuity’ than the original recipe intends, but this is what makes them a tasty little sweet treat.

festive-biscuits

The perfect gift for Santa…

Ingredients

  • 225 grams salted butter (softened)
  • 125 grams of caster sugar
  • 325 grams plain white flour
  • Zest of one orange
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • Extra caster sugar to finish

Method

  • Add all of the dry ingredients and orange zest to a large bowl. Break the butter into small chunks and add to the bowl.
  • Using a whisk, beat until the mixture looks like damp breadcrumbs. Form the mixture into a rectangular shape. Wrap the pastry in Clingfilm and chill in the fridge for one-hour.
  • Roll the pastry out on to a floured surface to around 2cms thick. Using your pastry cutter of choice, cut the biscuits, lay out on a tray lined with non-stick baking paper and sprinkle with caster sugar.
  • Turn the oven on to 120 degrees (this is for a fan oven), the original recipe suggests 150 degrees but this was too hot for my biscuits.
  • After a couple of minutes put the biscuits into the oven while it is still cool and bake for 30-40 minutes until golden.
  • Remove from the oven, sprinkle with more caster sugar and cool on a wire rack.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

