I would do anything for Meatloaf, but I won’t do that

Back in my younger years the old tapes played out on long car journeys and while Bananarama was a firm favourite the parents also inflicted Daniel O’Donnell style country music upon my ears.

(For younger readers or those not familiar with rural Irish colloquialisms, ‘tapes’ refer to cassette tapes a popular method of playing music before the invention of CDs and downloads.)

Meatloaf - The Singer

Meatloaf – The Singer

One voice though truly captivated me and had the ability to capture the heartache, woe and sometimes scorn the words described… it could almost make you Read Em And Weep. It is of course the original Bat Out Of Hell – Mr Meatloaf himself – I am writing about.

From Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad to Paradise By The Dashboard Light, Marvin Lee (one for the true fanatics), has many epic songs. I am blessed to share my passion with friends who are not adverse to a blast of Meatloaf’s greatest hits after a few drinks and on a December night in 2010 while the snow was really piling up outside, in Belfast’s Odyssey Arena my rock in roll dreams came true as I watched my hero perform live,

My adoration however is not reserved exclusively for ‘Meatloaf The Singer’, I am also a fan of ‘Meatloaf The Food’. On my travels through the US a few years back, Mrs O’Hagan, a lovely Irish lady me and a friend stayed with in Chicago, made us Meatloaf and shared her recipe with me.

Meatloaf is a versatile dish and tastes great served with potatoes, vegetables and a rich onion gravy. It also works cold as a tasty sandwich filler and some strange folk also suggest serving it with baked beans, but like the title says I will do anything for meatloaf but I won’t do that…

Meatloaf served with roasted baby potatoes and carrots and onion gravy.

Meatloaf served with roasted baby potatoes and carrots and onion gravy.

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ pounds of lean mince steak
  • ½ onion
  • 1 teaspoon tomato puree
  • 1 teaspoon of smoked paprika
  • 1 teaspoon white pepper
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Breadcrumbs – 1 slice of almost stale bread
  • 1 egg
  • Butter
  • 4 slices of bacon (streaky bacon works best)

Method

  1. Add a little butter to a non-stick pan, roughly just enough to coat the surface.
  2. Finely dice the onion and add to the pan. Sauté on a low heat until the onion has softened.
  3. Place the mince in a bowl and add the onion, tomato puree, paprika, salt and pepper and mix well.
  4. Pre heat the oven to 200 degrees.

    Meatloaf ready for the oven

    Meatloaf ready for the oven

  5. Add the breadcrumbs to the meat mixture and work through.
  6. Beat the egg and work through the meat mixture.
  7. Transfer the mixture to a loaf tin and smooth and level out into the edges of the tin.
  8. Cut the slices of bacon in half and place across the mince and press down into it.
  9. Place the loaf tin in the oven and cook for 20-25 minutes until the meatloaf has browned through, do not overcook as the mince will dry out.
Leave a Reply

