When life gives you lemons – make lemon curd jam

Lemon is my favourite flavour and I really love the tang and bitterness (not sure what this says about me as an individual) it leaves on the palate from cakes to sorbets and in savoury sauces.

Before going to school I remember taking the pot of Robertson’s lemon curd jam from the fridge and spreading it on my toast, but then one sad day Robertson’s stopped making lemon curd jam.

Lemon Curd Jam

I vaguely remember a rumour which suggested a shard of glass in a pot caused the demise of my beloved lemon curd; although this could be an urban myth or a fanciful notion dreamed up by an overactive childish imagination trying to understand why they were so cruelly robbed.

True there were other brands available, but these were mere pretenders and lacked the vibrant yellow colour and thickness of the Robertson’s variety, so for many years I turned my back on lemon curd jam, well sometimes I gave in and had silver shred marmalade on toast but it was just not the same.

Recently though I was looking through an old farmhouse cookery book at my parents’ house and happened upon a recipe for lemon curd jam. Pages were falling out of the book and it looked about as old as I was so I thought this recipe could take me as close as I will ever get to the Robertson version.

So I tried it out and disappoint it did not; the colour was so yellow (lemon to be exact), the texture was thick and smooth and it tasted so lemony.

It is also really easy to make and I am going to use my next batch to make a Lemon Meringue Pie.

Serve this on a slice of homemade soda bread or pancakes for a delicious treat.

Lemon Curd Jam

This makes roughly 600mls and should fill two jam jars.

 

Ingredients

  • 175 grams caster sugar (add an extra 50grams if you like your jam sweeter)
  • 125 grams of butter
  • 3 lemons
  • 2 large eggs

Method

  • Half fill a large saucepan with water and bring to the boil.
  • Turn down the heat and allow the water to simmer. Take a bowl or smaller saucepan and set into the saucepan (see picture below). Do not let the water touch the bottom of the bowl.
  • To sterilise the jam jars. Heat the oven to 140 degrees and wash the jars in hot, soapy water and rinse well. Place the jars on a baking sheet and put them in the oven to dry completely. Then take the jam jars out of the oven and let them cool.
  • Remove the rind from the lemons using a grater and then squeeze the juice through a sieve into a separate bowl.
  • Cut the butter into small pieces and along with the sugar, lemon rind and half of the juice, add to the bowl which is heating over the saucepan.

    Sugar dissolving into the butter

    Lemon Curd jam

  • Beat the eggs and when the sugar has dissolved into the butter, add the eggs and the remaining lemon juice to the bowl.
  • Stir the curd gently and allow the mixture to heat through for 10-15 minutes. The curd will start to thicken and when it coats the back of a spoon without sliding off it is ready.
  • Pour the curd into the jam jars and once it has cooled fix jam lid covers on top. You can seal these with a rubber band or add the jam jar lid.
  • The lemon curd will keep for up to four weeks in the fridge.
Leave a Reply

