The Mother Sauces

Culinary experts suggest that mastering the five mother sauces of French cuisine is an essential skill for one to be truly considered a good cook.

In the early 1800s noted French chefs, Marie-Antonie Carême and Auguste Escoffier catered for Europe’s royalty and elite and created five primary sauces which form the basis for most other sauces… although I am guessing HP and Ketchup are exceptions to this rule.

On my quest to become a truly good cook (and one day culinary expert), I am setting myself the mother of all challenges; mastering all five sauces.

Admittedly the words ‘classical’ and ‘French’ frighten me, but looking at the list of my fears have been somewhat alleviated…

Five Mother Sauces:

  • Béchamel
  • Velouté
  • Espagnole
  • Hollandaise
  • Tomate

Already I can make Tomato, Béchamel and possibly an Espagnole – this seems to be a brown roux and sounds like a fancy name for gravy.

Over the next few weeks this section will be updated with a recipe for each of the sauces allowing you all to chart my progress from amateur gravy maker to master sauce creator.

 

Leave a Reply

